Tuesday, June 23, 2009

Scam warning!

Alarm bells rang today when I received the following email, headed "Order inquiry From Switzerland":

Hello,
My Name is John Stone from Switzerland. Do you ship to Switzerland also if accept credit card as method of payment.

Thank you


For a start, the English is obviously that of a non-native speaker, yet he uses a very Anglo-Saxon sounding name. Since he purports to be from Switzerland, "Hans Stein" would have been more convincing! And why is he inquiring about shipping and method of payment without first explaining what he wants to pay me for?

Apple Mail flagged the message as junk. I checked the routing information in the email header and found it had come from a server in the Netherlands, while the domain of the address used (rediffmail.com) is located in India. So no sign of Switzerland there!

I therefore have to conclude that Mr John Stone is most likely a buddy, or at least a kindred spirit, of our old friends Messrs John Mathew and Daniel Creig. If anyone else has received his email, my advice would be to ignore and delete it.

Update, July 16: It appears "John Stone" is trying to defraud online businesses generally, and not just translators. See this discussion: http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?p=778739

0 comments:

Post a Comment